Why Write Fiction?

So why does the world need yet another fiction writing blog? There are thousands of blogs out there on the craft of fiction writing. What makes me think I can contribute anything to the discussion? My perspective is that of an experienced writer and editor who made the difficult transition from a newspaper reporter to a fiction writer. Along the way, I made more than my share of mistakes. I want to share what I’ve learned along the way with other writers, especially new writers.

People who don’t write fiction don’t understand what makes us want to torture ourselves. We sit in front of a computer screen for hours on end, making up stuff we believe other people will want to read. Are we crazy? No, we’re just driven by a passion to write.

The job of newspaper reporter was fun, but it was grounded in real events. I could crank out a 1,500-word piece on deadline summarizing the major points of a white paper on public education financing, complete with quotes and context. Writing fiction is a lot harder. A critic might say, “But you’re just making it up. How hard can it be?” It’s plenty hard. You don’t have any real events or real people to draw upon. It has to come from deep inside you. There are no characters on your screen. There’s no story. There are no unexpected twists and turns. There’s no theme. It’s just you and a blank screen.

In fiction writing, you get to express your thoughts, your ideas, your dreams, your fears and your frustrations, and, even your secrets. You get to create appealing, but flawed characters, who stumble and fail, but persevere to reach their goals. You get to take a story in any direction you wish. You get to choose whatever genre you like. You’re in control.

So how did I end up writing fiction? When I left the newspaper business, I missed writing, so I joined a writers’ group and I was on my way. At least that’s what I thought. I discovered that calling yourself a fiction writer and learning the craft of fiction writing are two different things. I wanted to be a fiction writer. I just didn’t know how.

Thanks to the Internet, there are abundant free resources for beginning writers. All you need is a search engine and some motivation. You can teach yourself the craft of fiction writing without investing in expensive workshops or an MFA. It will take time, but you will learn the craft if you dedicate yourself and keep an open mind to what others have to share with you.

Okay, so you have the passion. You’re willing to put in the time to learn the craft. The final ingredient for success is commitment. You have to be willing to sit down and write on a regular basis—whether it’s every day or three or four times a week. You can’t “dabble” in fiction, any more than you can dabble in becoming a doctor or a lawyer.

Fiction writing is a lifetime commitment. You may not succeed with your first novel. You may not even succeed with your fifth novel. But you’ve got to keep writing

One more thing: if you want to write quality fiction, you must read quality fiction. As much of it as you can, while still finding the time to write. Pay attention to how good writers develop characters, plot a story and create themes that resonate. Re-read novels that you especially liked, focusing on the writing.

I’ve shared with you why I write. Why do you write?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Why Write Fiction?

  1. Violet

    Simple – I write because I can’t not write

  2. David Waid

    I think writing fiction is the perfect antidote to a world of relentless sameness–same jobs, same bills, same manicured lawns with the same nutgrass issues. Our social exchanges are all governed by the same roster of nicities and regulations. The world is like one vast and exacting HOA. But when writing, there are momentary flashes where you can live off the grid–wild and unkempt, bellowing laughter or snarling as the situation actually demands. Thank God for writing.

Leave a Reply

