That’s the Last Time I Write About Weather

Last Saturday, I wrote about which seasons are the best ones for writers and the impact of weather on productivity. At the time, I had no idea my state would get slammed with the worst October snow storm in history. There are trees and wires down everywhere. Many streets in my town are impassable. Gas is scarce and power outages are widespread. A record of nearly one million people lost power in Connecticut. It will be awhile before we dig out of this one. Believe it or not, the post about weather and seasons was planned long before I knew about this freakish storm.

We are adapting to the conditions. I did manage to read 50 pages of Barbara Kingsolver’s The Poisonwood Bible by natural light on Sunday. We spent the evening huddled by the fire to stay warm. We heated up Ravioli on the fire and water for hot chocolate. What an adventure!

Stay tuned for more on the storm aftermath. My posts will be shorter and more infrequent for now. I was gearing up to begin my first NaNoWriMo entry, beginning tomorrow. I’m still planning to write my novel, but it won’t be on a laptop., at least not in the near future  I bought a notebook today so I can start my NaNoWriMo entry in pen. It feels like olden times. I will have more to report and some unbelievable pictures of what the roads looked like soon. It was something out of a horror movie–a perfect setting for Halloween.

That’s what I get for writing about weather. I should have stuck to safe topics like story arc, characterization, and theme.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “That’s the Last Time I Write About Weather

  1. We didn’t get hit too bad on Long Island but the sight of all that snow was definitely a shocker for October! Good luck with Nano 🙂

Leave a Reply

