NaNoWriMo-Day 3

This is Day 3 of National Novel Writing Month and Day 5 of no power in my Connecticut town. Our utility company projects we will have power back Sunday night at midnight. I’m skeptical. There are still trees and utility wires down all over the place. In spite of the lack of power. NaNoWriMo continues.

I wrote nine pages of my new novel by hand before I could use my laptop. Most of the handwritten material was complete crap. I don’t know how writers write by hand. It wasn’t a total waste of time. I discovered when I went back and read it over that I’d fallen into the old trap of telling and not showing the story. So I went to work on the same story on the laptop–this time showing it through scenes with action and dialogue. I am now at 1,500 words on November 3. I hope to double that by tomorrow.

It goes to show that writers can overcome obstacles. I’m writing this post on my iPhone. It’s slow going, but I heard about a writer once who had to reconstruct an entire novel on the iPhone after his hard drive got fried, so this is really a small inconvenience.

More to come tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

