2012 Goals

Goals provide benchmarks for writers to measure their progress. A new year is an ideal time for the writer to sit down and set some realistic and achievable goals. Writers should set goals that are appropriate for their skill level and experience. For a novice writer, starting a novel and writing 50,000 words in a year is an achievable goal. I’ve been writing fiction since 1997, which means my goals must be more ambitious.

Here are my goals:

  • Publish my first novel, Small Change, through the Kindle Direct Publishing program.
  • Implement my marketing plan for my first novel.
  • Finish and publish my current work-in-progress, Life of the Party: A Tale of Politics, Rap Music, and Social Media.
  • Revise the first draft of my second novel, Color Him Father.
  • Write a 100,000 word novel.
  • Attend a writer’s conference.
  • Read at least 25 books, including at least two books on the craft of fiction writing.
  • Maintain my blog and post new essays at least twice a year.
  • Engage regularly with other writers.

Here’s wishing everybody a happy and productive new year.

What are your goals for 2012?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “2012 Goals

  1. Wow – looks like you have a full plate. My main goals are to have a readable draft of my manuscript completed by the end of the year, to link my blog to a Facebook account and to find a writer’s circle on Long Island. Best of luck to you in 2012!

Leave a Reply

