Books Read in 2012

Stephen King, in his classic craft of fiction memoir, On Writing, urges all writers to read widely. Writers must take the time to read across all genres to understand and grasp the basics of storytelling and character development. I set a goal to read 25 books a year. This year I read 26 books. I try to read a mix of popular fiction, classics, some nonfiction, and a few craft of fiction books. Sometimes I will choose to read a book to help me with what I am writing at the time. For instance, when I am having trouble exploring complex relationships in my story, I will turn to an author who is adept at doing that.

Here is my list of books read in 2012:

Broken Irish by Edward J. Delaney

The War of Art by Steven Pressfield

Turning Pro by Steven Pressfield

Outlining Your Novel by K.M. Weiland

Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain

Telegraph Avenue, by Michael Chabon

The Beginner’s Goodbye by Anne Tyler

Writing 21st Century Fiction: High Impact Techniques for Exceptional Storytelling by Donald Maass

Family Graces by Kathryn Magendie

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Canada by Richard Ford

Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

The Bone Blade Girl by A.D. Bloom

Generosity: An Enhancement by Richard Powers

The Last Will of Moira Leahy by Therese Walsh

Secret Graces by Kathryn Magendie

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

To the Lifeboats by Jamie Beckett

Defending Jacob, by William Landay

Writer’s Conference Guide: Getting the Most of Your Time and Money by Bob Mayer and Jennifer Talty

In my next post, I will write about my favorite book of 2012.

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Books Read in 2012

  1. Always interesting to see what other people are reading! I reread many books each year, and read a wide mix myself– physics books aimed at laymen, logic, philosophy, fiction of all sorts, cookbooks, writing manuals, special interest stuff, and the odd history or biography. Can’t seem to keep a list, though.

    • Mary,
      Thanks for your comment. I use Goodreads to keep track of the books I’ve read. When I start a new book, I enter it on Goodreads and then I usually leave a review when I finish it. That way, Goodreads keeps track of my list for me. Thanks again.

  2. I’ve read a few of these. What did you think of the “Turning Pro” book by Pressfield? I read the War of Art and thought it was a worthwhile read. Nice list.

    • Julie,
      Thanks for your comment. I thought Turning Pro was a real wake-up call for fledgling writers. It had a powerful message about the commitment it takes to be a published author. I also liked the War of Art. It explores similar ideas. Thanks again.

    • Julie,
      Thanks for your comment. I thought Turning Pro was a real wake-up call for fledgling writers. It had a powerful message about the commitment it takes to be a published author. I also liked the War of Art. It explores similar ideas. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

