Books Read in 2014

2014 was a light year for me. I usually strive to read at least 25 books a year. During the past year, I read only 15. That was due in large part to the time I spent finishing my work-in-progress, A Prayer for Maura. I am happy to report I am nearly done with the edits on Maura, and I will announce the book launch soon. If anyone wants an Advance Review Copy (ARC) please email me at cblake55@comcast.net.

Back to books. Here are the books I read in 2014:

The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt.

We Are Water, Wally Lamb

On the Wild Coast, PJ Lee

Dune Messiah, Frank Herbert

This is how you lose her, Junot Diaz

The Moon Sisters, Therese Walsh

Lifeform Three, Roz Morris

The Cuckoo’s Calling, Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling)

The Casual Vacancy, JK Rowling

Bad Monkey, Carl Hiaasen

11/22/63, Stephen King

Lifeboat Series (books four and five), Jamie Beckett

The Devil’s Star, Jo Nesbit

The Emotion Thesaurus, Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi

Lean In, Sheryl Sandberg

So here’s a New Year’s resolution: I promise to read more books in 2015.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Books Read in 2014

  1. Exploding Mary

    There are several on this list I want to read. I lost track of my own list, though I’m pretty sure I went over 20. Now I’m wondering how you liked Dune Messiah? It’s a good one, as is the next, but one of my top favorites is the very cerebral God-Emperor of Dune, the fourth Dune book.

    • Mary, thanks for your comments. I actually liked Dune Messiah better than Dune. The writing was tighter and the stakes were significant and clear. I think I missed a few of the books I read because I’ve been having trouble posting books to Goodreads, which I use to track books read. All the best to you in 2015.

Leave a Reply

